BVI Finance is pleased to announce its newly elected board members who were appointed during its 2024 Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on February 21. 

Elected for two-year terms, the new board members are Chris Newton of Maples; Christopher Simpson of O’Neal Webster; and Iona Wright of Walkers. Jonathan Bailey of Rawlinson & Hunter who served on the 2023 board was also re-elected for a two-year term.

They join the returning board directors, Sabinah Clement of Trident Trust; Johnny Law of Interpath; Simon Filmer of Vistra; George Weston of Harneys, and Kayla Laidlaw of Deloitte Limited.

Additionally, the elected directors are joined by the appointed government representatives Jeremiah Frett, Financial Secretary of the Ministry of Finance, and Ayana Glasgow, Executive Director of International Business Regulations of the Ministry of Financial Services, Labour and Trade. 

In presenting BVI Finance's Annual Report for 2023 at the AGM, Trident’s Nicholas Bishop, the outgoing Chairman of the Board of Directors, expressed his gratitude for having had the opportunity to lead the board over the past three years.   He praised the strong partnership between the industry and the BVI Government, highlighting it as a positive and unique aspect of the BVI. 

Despite the challenges posed by the global economy, Bishop noted the stability of the BVI's book of business, as evidenced by the weekly high-value transactions reported by various firms.  He introduced BVI Finance's new strategic plan, emphasising its multifaceted approach anchored in the principles of “Protection, Promotion, and People.” This plan, he explained underscores, “BVI Finance's dedication to driving growth, managing the reputation of its financial services industry, and equipping the BVI workforce for future success in the financial services industry.”

The BVI Finance board brings a wealth of expertise to their directorship roles and will enhance BVI Finance’s mandate in marketing and promoting the BVI’s financial services industry. 

For further information please contact:
Adrianna Soverall
Marketing and Media Relations Coordinator |Tel: 284-852-1957